Learning Data Science – Episode 2 – Addressing a problem

Hey guys, as I said on the last post “What Am I Trying?” , I’m trying to become a data scientist, but I need DATA for it, so I was looking as crazy for good datasets around to see If I could some a health problem or research something about it. I’m trying to look at papers from around the word such as this one : http://ac.els-cdn.com/S1532046415000362/1-s2.0-S1532046415000362-main.pdf?_tid=02c3a27e-dad0-11e4-93bc-00000aab0f27&acdnat=1428154946_0fd4965497770bd1aeaa62c0dca87e2a

But it’s rather difficult to find appropriate data here in Brazil to support my objectives ( but I won’t give up too soon ) , indeed, I’m looking for some instituitons and their research to ask if they can provide me something, I can’t tell anything about it now. The problem is, I don’t know which kind of problem to address, which to me, seems way harder than I thought it would be. But I think it’s great to find those challenges soon because I can understand better what is coming next anyways.

Another thing is: If you address a problem, then you have to look for data to support it, and that’s always come in an usual way. I’m thinking about using social media data to gather information (using Text Mining) , maybe I can make? Who knows? I’m just looking for help everywhere I can to learn more about health problems that face my society and try to apply data mining to solve something.

Maybe I am at the right way?

 

 

Leave a Reply

